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Texas Juvenile Probation Commission 
Disqualifying Criminal History Matrix1 and Reference Guide 

 

Since 1999, the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission has passed several administrative rules (i.e., standards) governing the specific disqualifying criminal history events which shall 
prohibit the hiring, certification and recertification of individuals as a “juvenile probation officer” and/or a “juvenile detention officer”.  This matrix reconciles the various effective dates 
under these standards and organizes the disqualifying events based upon the date of employment.   
 

Disqualifiers for New Hires2 Disqualifiers for Certification or Recertification of Officers3 

Probation Officers Detention Officers Probation Officers Detention Officers 

A 
New Employees Hired 

Before 9/01/2001 D 
New Employees Hired 

Before 3/31/1999 H Current Employees Hired 
Before 9/1/20014 K 

Current Employees Hired 
Before 3/31/1999 

Standards required a background 
investigation be conducted  
according to county policy 

Standards required a background 
investigation be conducted  
according to county policy 

 
Felony conviction within previous  
10 years for offense committed  

on or after 9/1/2001 

No disqualifying criminal history events 
for offenses committed prior to 3/31/1999  

Use Box L for all employees. 

B 

New Employees Hired  
On or After 9/01/20015  
But Before 9/1/2003 E 

New Employees Hired  
On or After 3/31/19996  
But Before 9/30/2002 

Felony deferred adjudication  
within previous 10 years for offense 

committed on or after 9/1/2001 L 

Current Employees 
Hired On or After 

3/31/1999 But  
Before 9/30/20027 

Felony conviction  
within previous 10 years 

Currently on community supervision  
or parole or serving a sentence  

for a criminal offense8  

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense committed  

on or after 9/1/2001 

Currently on community supervision or 
parole or serving a sentence for a criminal 
offense committed on or after 3/31/1999 

Felony deferred adjudication  
within previous 10 years F 

New Employees Hired 
On or After 9/30/20029 
But Before 9/1/2003 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62,  

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure for 
offense committed on or after 9/1/2001 

Felony conviction within previous  
10 years for offense committed  

on or after 9/30/2002 

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense 

Felony conviction within  
previous 10 years 

Jailable misdemeanor conviction  
within previous 5 years for offense 

committed on or after 9/1/2003 

Felony deferred adjudication within 
previous 10 years for offense committed on 

or after 9/30/2002 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62,  

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure 

Felony deferred adjudication within 
previous 10 years 

Jailable misdemeanor deferred 
adjudication within previous 5 years for 
offense committed on or after 9/1/2003 

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense committed  

on or after 9/30/2002 

C New Employees 
Hired On or After 

9/1/200310 
Currently on probation or parole  

for a felony offense 

Currently on probation for a  
jailable misdemeanor offense  

committed on or after 9/1/2003 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62,  

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure for 
offense committed on or after 9/30/2002 

Felony conviction within                  
previous 10 years 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62,  

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure I 

Current Employees Hired    
On or After 9/1/2001         
But Before 9/1/200311 

Jailable misdemeanor conviction  
within previous 5 years for offense 

committed on or after 9/1/2003 

Felony deferred adjudication  
within previous 10 years G 

New Employees  
Hired On or After  

9/1/200312 
Felony conviction within  

previous 10 years 

Jailable misdemeanor deferred 
adjudication within previous 5 years for 
offense committed on or after 9/1/2003 

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense 

Felony conviction within                  
previous 10 years 

Felony deferred adjudication  
within previous 10 years  

Currently on probation for a jailable 
misdemeanor offense committed  

on or after 9/1/2003 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62,  

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure 

Felony deferred adjudication  
within previous 10 years 

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense M 

Current Employees 
Hired On or After 

9/30/2002                
But Before  9/1/200313 

Jailable misdemeanor14 conviction  
within previous 5 years 

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62,  

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure  
Felony conviction within  

previous 10 years  

Jailable misdemeanor deferred 
adjudication within previous 5 years 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62,  

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure 

Jailable misdemeanor conviction  
within previous 5 years for offense 

committed on or after 9/1/2003 

Felony deferred adjudication  
within previous 10 years  

Currently on probation or parole for a 
jailable misdemeanor offense 

 
Jailable misdemeanor conviction  

within previous 5 years 

Jailable misdemeanor deferred 
adjudication within previous 5 years for 
offense committed on or after 9/1/2003 

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense  

 
Jailable misdemeanor deferred  

adjudication within previous 5 years 

Currently on probation for a jailable 
misdemeanor offense committed 

on or after 9/1/2003 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62,  

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure  

 
 

Currently on probation for a jailable 
misdemeanor offense J 

Current Employees Hired    
On or After 9/1/2003 

Jailable misdemeanor conviction  
within previous 5 years for offense 

committed on or after 9/1/2003 

 
 Same disqualifying criminal history  

events as new employee hired  
on or after 9/1/2003 

Jailable misdemeanor deferred 
adjudication within previous 5 years for 
offense committed on or after 9/1/2003 

Currently on probation or parole for  
a jailable misdemeanor offense  
committed on or after 9/1/2003 

N 
Current Employees Hired    

On or After 9/1/2003 

 
NOTE:  The first step in using this matrix 
is to determine the employee’s date of 
hire.  The date of hire will guide the 
reader to the appropriate box indicating 
the disqualifying criminal history. 
 
 

Same disqualifying criminal history  
events as new employee hired  

on or after 9/1/2003 



TJPC-CER-11-04, November 2003 

                                                                                                                                                                                               
Matrix Reference Endnotes: 
 
1    All offenses refer to offenses against the laws of the state of Texas, another state or the United States. Generally, juvenile adjudications should not be considered 

disqualifying criminal history as set forth in Family Code Section 51.13 because these adjudications are not considered criminal convictions.  However, there are certain 
circumstances in which an unsealed juvenile adjudication will appear in a criminal history background check.  Disqualifying juvenile history includes: 1) a current 
determinate sentence probation that has been transferred to adult community supervision (i.e., adult probation) under Family Code Section 54.051; 2) a determinate 
sentence offense for which the individual was transferred to current TDCJ parole; and 3) a current juvenile sex offender registration.   A juvenile sex offense adjudication 
for which the period of registration has expired is not a disqualifying event, but should be strongly considered in the hiring decision.  It is important to be aware that 
restricted access juvenile history may also appear in TCIC since disclosure of these records is authorized for a "criminal justice purpose" under Chapter 411 of the 
Government Code.  A non-public sex offender registration may also appear in TCIC for the same reason.  A current non-public registration arising from a juvenile sex 
offense is a disqualifying event.  It is not a disqualifier if the check reveals that the non-public registration period has expired.   

 
2  The disqualifying criminal history events listed in this section apply to individuals being considered for employment.  Commission standards prohibit the hiring of an 

individual for the position of a juvenile probation officer and/or a juvenile detention officer if the individual has certain disqualifying criminal history.  If the county juvenile 
probation department, program or facility hires an individual in violation of the hiring requirements standard, this individual will not qualify for certification from the 
Commission.  The Commission will not require the termination of an employee who was hired with a disqualifying criminal history and the department, program or facility 
may retain the employee.  However, the employee may not function as a juvenile probation officer or a juvenile detention officer, may not hold the title of a juvenile 
probation officer or juvenile detention officer and will not be able to be certified as such. 

 
3  An individual is disqualified from becoming certified or recertified by the Commission if any of the disqualifying criminal history in this section exists when the application 

for certification or recertification is submitted to the Commission.  If the certification of a juvenile probation or detention officer is allowed to expire for any reason, the 
disqualifying criminal history applicable to individuals hired on or after 9/1/2003 applies regardless of the individual's original date of employment in any position with the 
juvenile probation department, program or facility (i.e., including both public and private facilities). 

 
4  Employees (i.e., certified juvenile probation officers) who were employed prior to 9/01/2001 (i.e., the effective date of the standard) were given the benefit of a 

grandfather clause which allows them to remain employed as a juvenile probation officer and be recertified as such regardless of their criminal history existing for 
offenses committed prior to 9/1/2001.   

 
5  Beginning 9/1/2001, any individual being considered for employment as a juvenile probation officer was subject to the requirements of the new criminal history standard 

which was effective 9/1/2001.  All of the disqualifying criminal history events listed in this section applied to any person being considered for employment in the position 
of a juvenile probation officer. 

 
6  Beginning 3/31/1999, any individual being considered for employment as a juvenile detention officer was subject to the requirements of the new criminal history standard 

which was effective 3/31/1999.  All of the disqualifying criminal history events listed in this section applied to any person being considered for employment in the position 
of a juvenile detention officer. 

 
7  Employees (i.e., certified juvenile detention officers) who were employed prior to 9/30/2002 (i.e., the effective date of the standard) were given the benefit of a qualified 

grandfather clause which allows them to remain employed as a juvenile detention officer and be recertified as such regardless of their criminal history existing for 
offenses committed prior to 9/30/2002 subject to the disqualification for being on community supervision or parole or serving a sentence (i.e., confinement) for a criminal 
offense (i.e., misdemeanor or felony) on the date of hire or on the date the certification or recertification application was submitted to the Commission. 

 
8  This standard applies to both misdemeanor offenses and felony offenses for which the individual was currently serving on probation, parole or jail time as the disposition 

of the offense.  Deferred adjudication is a form of community supervision under the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 42.12 and is included in this standard. 
 
9  Beginning 9/30/2002, any individual being considered for employment as a juvenile detention officer was subject to the requirements of the new criminal history standard 

which was effective 9/30/2002.  All of the disqualifying criminal history listed in this section applied to any person being considered for employment in the position of a 
juvenile detention officer. 

 
10  Beginning 9/1/2003, any individual being considered for employment as a juvenile probation officer is subject to the requirements of the newest criminal history standard 

which was effective 9/1/2003.  All of the disqualifying criminal history listed in this section applies to any person being considered for employment in the position of a 
juvenile probation officer. 

 
11  Employees (i.e., certified juvenile probation officers) who were employed prior to 9/01/2003 (i.e., the effective date of the standard) were given the benefit of a 

grandfather clause related to misdemeanor offenses which allows them to remain employed as a juvenile probation officer and be recertified as such regardless of their 
criminal history existing for conduct committed prior to 9/01/2003. 

 
12  Beginning 9/1/2003, any individual being considered for employment as a juvenile detention officer is subject to the requirements of the newest criminal history standard 

which was effective 9/1/2003.  All of the disqualifying criminal history listed in this section applies to any person being considered for employment in the position of a 
juvenile detention officer. 

 
13  Employees (i.e., certified juvenile detention officers) who were employed prior to 9/1/2003 (i.e., the effective date of the standard) were given the benefit of a grandfather 

clause related to jailable misdemeanor offenses which allows them to remain employed as a juvenile detention officer and be recertified as such regardless of their 
misdemeanor criminal history existing for conduct committed prior to 9/1/2003. 

 
14  Jailable misdemeanor offenses are those offenses that carry a penalty that may include confinement in jail.   Upon discovering a misdemeanor conviction, a department, 

facility or program should first refer to the provisions of the Texas Penal Code or other applicable codes such as the Transportation Code, Parks & Wildlife Code, 
Government Code, etc. that describe prohibited conduct to determine whether the conduct is classified as jailable.   An individual seeking employment, certification 
and/or recertification will be disqualified for jailable offenses such as Class A or B misdemeanors that are punishable by confinement in jail.  There may also be 
situations when an officer has been charged with a jailable misdemeanor but the actual disposition of the case does not include jail time.   For example, a situation 
where an officer is charged with a first-time DWI, a Class B misdemeanor and is given a disposition of probation but was not sentenced to jail time.  Based on the 
statutory punishment scheme for a Class B misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 6 months in jail, this offense is still considered a disqualifying jailable misdemeanor.  
In addition, if a criminal history search reveals an out-of-state offense, an officer shall be disqualified if the offense is classified as jailable in that state.  Class C 
misdemeanors are classified as fineable only offenses and are not associated with a period of confinement.  However, under certain circumstances Class C 
misdemeanors may be enhanced to a jailable misdemeanor.  Section 12.43(c) of the Texas Penal Code authorizes jail time as an enhancement or penalty for repeat 
and habitual conduct arising from Class C misdemeanor offenses.  For example, an officer convicted on three separate occasions with the Class C misdemeanors of 
Public Intoxication or Disorderly Conduct within a two-year period would be subject to punishment that includes a period of confinement of up to 6 months.  Other Class 
C misdemeanor offenses may also include a punishment scheme that contains a specific enhancement provision increasing the punishment to include jail time.   A 
Class C Contempt under Government Code Section 21.002 would be one example.  The Commission recommends that the department, facility or program consult with 
the local county or district attorney to review disqualifying criminal histories that include these categories of jailable and fineable offenses.  

 
NOTE:  The benefit of any grandfather clause referenced in this matrix attaches only to certified probation and detention officers who were employed as a certified officer 
on the effective date of the standard.  Additionally, the benefit of the grandfather clause follows an individual to whom it attaches so long as the individual is employed in the 
same department.  For example, if a detention officer was given the benefit of a grandfather clause and that individual later becomes a probation officer in the same 
department, the officer would retain the benefit of the grandfather clause.  The benefit of the grandfather clause also is portable and follows an individual to any other 
juvenile probation department, program or facility in Texas so long as the individual’s certification does not lapse. 
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Texas Juvenile Probation Commission 
Determining If An Individual Has a Disqualifying Criminal History 

for Certification and Recertification Purposes1 
Employees Hired Before 9/1/2003 

 
Juvenile Probation Officer 

STO
P –

D
ISQ

U
A

LIFYIN
G

 EVEN
T 

No 

Yes

No

Felony conviction within 
previous 10 years? 

No

 

Felony deferred adjudication  
within previous 10 years?

No

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense? 

Hired On or After 
9/1/2001 But Before 

9/1/2003? 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62, 

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure? 

No

No

Jailable misdemeanor conviction within 
previous 5 years for offense committed 

on or after 9/1/2003?

No

Jailable misdemeanor deferred 
adjudication within previous 5 years for 
offense committed on or after 9/1/2003?

Currently on probation for a jailable 
misdemeanor offense committed on or 

after 9/1/2003?

No 

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

GO - ELIGIBLE 
NO DISQUALIFYING EVENT 

Yes 

STO
P -D

ISQ
U

A
LIFYIN

G
 EVEN

T 

No 

Juvenile Detention Officer 

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Hired On or After 
9/30/2002 But 

Before 9/1/2003? 

Yes 

No

Felony conviction within 
previous 10 years? 

No

 

Felony deferred adjudication  
within previous 10 years?

No

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense? 

Currently required to register as a  
sex offender under Chapter 62, 

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure? 

No

No

Jailable misdemeanor conviction within 
previous 5 years for offense committed 

on or after 9/1/2003?

No

Jailable misdemeanor deferred 
adjudication within previous 5 years for 
offense committed on or after 9/1/2003? 

Currently on probation or parole for a 
jailable misdemeanor offense 

committed on or after 9/1/2003? 

No

GO - ELIGIBLE 
NO DISQUALIFYING EVENT 

1 The letters and colors of the flowchart above correspond with the Matrix and Reference Guide. 

H I K - L M

GO - ELIGIBLE 
NO DISQUALIFYING EVENT 

No

Felony conviction within previous  
10 years for offense committed on  

or after 9/1/2001? 
Yes

No

Felony deferred adjudication within 
previous 10 years for offense 

committed on or after 9/1/2001? 
Yes

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense committed  

on or after 9/1/2001? 
Yes

 
Hired Before 

9/1/2001? 

No

No

Currently required to register as a sex 
offender under Chapter 62, Texas Code 

of Criminal Procedure for offense 
committed on or after 9/1/2001? 

No

Jailable misdemeanor conviction within 
previous 5 years for offense committed 

on or after 9/1/2003? 

No

Jailable misdemeanor deferred 
adjudication within previous 5 years for 
offense committed on or after 9/1/2003? 

Currently on probation for a jailable 
misdemeanor offense committed on or 

after 9/1/2003? 

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes 

Yes

No 

Currently on community supervision, 
parole or serving a sentence for a 

criminal offense committed on or after 
3/31/1999?

Yes

No 

Felony conviction within previous  
10 years for offense committed on  

or after 9/30/2002?

Yes

No

Felony deferred adjudication within 
previous 10 years for offense 

committed on or after 9/30/2002?
Yes

Currently on probation or parole  
for a felony offense committed  

on or after 9/30/2002?

Yes

Hired Before 
3/31/1999 or Hired On 
or After 3/31/1999 But 

Before 9/30/2002?

No

No

Currently required to register as a sex 
offender under Chapter 62, Texas Code 

of Criminal Procedure for offense 
committed on or after 9/30/2002?

No

Jailable misdemeanor conviction within 
previous 5 years for offense committed 

on or after 9/1/2003?

No

Jailable misdemeanor deferred 
adjudication within previous 5 years for 
offense committed on or after 9/1/2003?

Currently on probation for a jailable 
misdemeanor offense committed on or 

after 9/1/2003?

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes 

GO - ELIGIBLE 
NO DISQUALIFYING EVENT
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Hypothetical Examples: 
 
 
1. Detention officer was hired December 2, 1998.  On November 2, 1996, the officer was given a disposition of 2 years probation for an offense 

committed on November 1, 1995.  The officer applied for certification from the Commission on April 10, 1999.  Was the officer hired properly 
according to Commission standards and can the officer be certified by the Commission?   Hint:  Box K 
 
Answer:  The officer was hired on December 2, 1998 which was prior to the Commission’s first disqualifying criminal history standard so the hiring 
of the individual was not a violation of Commission standards. However, local county policy could have prohibited the hiring.  The officer was 
eligible to be certified on April 10, 1999.     

 
2. Detention officer was hired on March 31, 1999.  The officer had an arrest for a Class A misdemeanor offense.  The arrest date was January 1, 

1999 and the officer was pending court disposition of the offense on the date of hire.  The offense was disposed of on May 1, 1999 and the officer 
was given 2 years probation and a fine.   The officer applied for certification from the Commission on June 10, 1999.   Was the officer properly 
hired according to Commission standards and can the officer be certified by the Commission?   Hint:  Box L 
 
Answer:  The officer was hired on March 31, 1999 which was the effective date of the new standard which prohibited the hiring of an individual 
who was currently on community supervision or parole or serving a sentence for a criminal offense committed on or after March 31, 1999.  At the 
time of hire, the individual was not disqualified under Commission standards from being hired.  However, local county policy could have prohibited 
the hiring.  The officer was not disqualified from being certified at the time of the submission of the certification application even though the officer 
was currently on probation for the offense since the offense occurred prior to March 31, 1999. 

 
3. A probation officer was hired on August 1, 2001.  The officer’s criminal background checks revealed a felony conviction for an offense committed 

on December 2, 1999 for which the officer was given 3 years probation on June 2, 2001.  The officer also had a felony conviction for an offense 
committed on December 25, 2001 for which the officer was given 2 years probation on May 30, 2002.  The officer applied for an initial certification 
on December 1, 2001 and applied for a recertification on December 1, 2003.  Was the officer properly hired according to Commission standards 
and can the officer be certified and recertified by the Commission?   Hint:  Box H 
 
Answer:  The officer was hired on August 1, 2001 which was prior to the Commission’s first disqualifying criminal history standard for probation 
officers, so the hiring did not violate Commission standards even though the individual had a felony offense in TCIC. However, local county policy 
could have prohibited the hiring.  The officer could receive an initial certification from the Commission.  The officer would not be eligible for 
recertification from the Commission because of the felony conviction for an offense committed after September 1, 2001 which was the effective 
date of the Commission’s disqualifying criminal history standard for probation officers. 

 
4. A probation officer was hired on September 1, 2001.  The officer’s criminal background checks revealed a felony conviction in 1990 with a 5 year 

probation term assigned and a conviction for a Class A misdemeanor on October 1, 2001 with a 3 year probation term assigned.  The officer 
applied for initial certification on November 1, 2001.  Was the officer properly hired according to Commission standards and can the officer be 
certified by the Commission?  Hint:  Box I 
 
Answer:  The hiring of the officer did not violate Commission’s standards since the felony was older than 10 years and the term of probation was 
expired.  However, local county policy could have prohibited the hiring of the individual. The officer was eligible for certification since the 
misdemeanor offense was committed prior to September 1, 2003. 

 
5. Detention officer was hired on September 1, 2003.  The criminal records check revealed an arrest for a felony offense committed on August 1, 

1997 and disposed of on December 30, 1997 with a disposition of 6 years probation.  Was the officer properly hired according to Commission 
standards and can the officer be certified by the Commission?  Hint:  Box N & G 

 
Answer:  This individual was hired in violation of Commission standards because the officer had a previous felony conviction within the last 10 
years and was currently on probation for the offense on the date of hire.  The individual would be disqualified from being certified due to the felony 
conviction within the last 10 years as well. 

 
6. A probation officer was hired on September 1, 2003.  The TCIC check showed an arrest for a Class B misdemeanor offense committed on June 

24, 2003 and a conviction was entered for the offense on December 4, 2003 wherein the officer was given deferred adjudication for 6 months.  
The individual applied for certification from the Commission on June 7, 2004.  Was the officer properly hired according to Commission standards 
and can the officer be certified by the Commission?  Hint:  Box J and C 

 
Answer:  The hiring of the officer did not violate Commission standards since there was no misdemeanor conviction within the previous 5 years.  In 
this case, the county or department’s hiring policy and practice should be cautious of the hiring since at the time of hire, there was certainly the 
possibility of a conviction forthcoming.  The officer would be ineligible for certification since at the time of certification, the officer had a 
misdemeanor deferred adjudication within the previous 5 years. 
 

7. A detention officer was hired on June 2, 2001.  A TCIC check revealed the officer had an arrest for a felony offense with a conviction date of  
September 2, 1995 and a disposition of 5 years probation.  The officer was certified by the Commission on August 30, 2001.  On September 1, 
2002, the detention officer completed his college program and was promoted to a juvenile probation officer.  A certification application for the 
position of “juvenile probation officer” was submitted to the Commission on December 1, 2002.  Was the officer properly hired according to 
Commission standards and can the officer be certified by the Commission as a probation officer?  Hint:  Box L 

 
Answer:  The hiring of the officer did not violate Commission standards since the offense for which the officer was on probation occurred prior to 
March 31, 1999.  However, county hiring policies could have prevented the hiring.  The detention officer was properly certified since this officer 
was given benefit of the qualified grandfather clause for the offense committed in 1995.  Since the grandfather clause attaches to a person and 
follows the person, the detention officer could be certified as a probation officer also.  The grandfather clause would allow the probation officer to 
transfer his or her certification to any other juvenile probation department in Texas as well. 
 
 




