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(@)

(b)

Standard.

The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) follows laws, rules, and industry standards for obtaining
medical consent from TJJD youth who are at least 18 years of age or from parents, guardians, or legal
custodians of minors and documents the consent process.

TJJD informs youth or their parents, guardians, or legal custodians about youth medical, dental, and
psychiatric care in a language that is easily understood.

Procedures.
(1) Notification of Authority to Provide Routine Medical Care.

(A)  Within 48 hours after a youth’s admission or recommitment to TJJD, a TJJD staff member
sends to the parent/guardian/legal custodian a Notice of Provision for Medical Care form,
HLS-860/HLS-860sp, via certified malil, return receipt requested. The HLS-860 provides
notification that TJJD provides youth with routine medical, dental, and mental health
evaluations and continued treatment as medically necessary unless parental/guardian/legal
custodian consent for such evaluations and/or treatment is denied. Routine services include:
0] health screenings and sick call;

(i)  physical and dental examinations;

(i)  mental health evaluations;

(iv) laboratory tests;

(v)  immunizations; and

(vi) treatment of health conditions identified through evaluations.

(B) Aninfirmary staff member scans the certified mail receipt into the electronic medical record
(EMR). See INS.45.01.

(C) When a youth is transferred within TJJD, the health services administrator (HSA) ensures

(2)

that the certified mail receipt is available in the EMR. If the receipt is not available, the HSA
notifies the appropriate TJJD staff.

Consent for Invasive Medical or Dental Procedures.

(A)

(B)

Off-Site Care.

If a youth requires an invasive medical or dental procedure to be performed at an off-site
location, the off-site medical or dental provider requests and receives consent for the
procedure from the youth, if the youth is at least 18 years of age, or from the
parent/guardian/legal custodian.

On-Site Care.

0] TJJID staff and University of Texas Medical Branch — Correctional Managed Care
(UTMB) staff collaborate with the youth’s case manager to contact a minor youth's
parent/guardian/legal custodian in order to obtain consent for an on-site, invasive
medical or dental procedure. If the parent/guardian/legal custodian cannot be reached,
the superintendent has the authority to give his/her consent for treatment of the youth
under certain conditions pursuant to Texas Family Code §32.001. If a youth is at least
18 years of age, consent is obtained from the youth.


http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.32.htm%2332.001
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.32.htm%2332.003
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/91/gap3809181.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_860.doc
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_860sp.doc
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/Institutions/Ins45/ins4501.pdf
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.32.htm%2332.001
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(ii)

(iii)

(iv)

The medical or dental staff obtains the youth’s signature on the appropriate consent
form (i.e., HLS-780m or HLS-780d) if the youth is at least 18 years of age. If the youth is
under the age of 18, health care staff collaborates with the TJJD case manager to
send the parent/guardian/legal custodian the appropriate consent form listed below and
the accompanying cover letter, Notification and Consent for Medical or Dental
Treatment, HLS-780I:

e Consent to Surgical/lnvasive Medical Procedure form, HLS-780m; or
¢ Notification and Consent for Surgical/Invasive Dental Procedure form, HLS-780d.

Infirmary staff:

() receives the completed HLS-780 form from the youth or the parent/guardian/legal
custodian;

(I scans the form into the EMR; and

(1  notifies the facility medical or dental provider when the consent form has been
received and scanned into the EMR.

If obtaining written consent from the parent/guardian/legal custodian is not feasible, two
staff members (at least one of whom is a health care professional) must witness
parental consent if obtained via the telephone and document the consent on the
appropriate consent form (i.e., HLS-780m or HLS-780d).

(3) Consent for Psychiatric Care.

(A) Health care staff notify in writing the parent/guardian/legal custodian, as appropriate, when a
psychiatric provider is starting a minor youth on a psychotropic medication or discontinuing a
psychotropic medication. (See HSP.06.09.)

(B) For information on involuntary administration of psychotropic medication during psychiatric
emergencies, see GAP.380.9192 and HSP.06.10.

(4) Refusal of Treatment.

Youth have the right to refuse any examination or medical, dental, psychiatric, or nursing treatment
except when refusal is considered life threatening or may jeopardize the health of others. Every
effort should be made, as appropriate, to identify the reason for the refusal and to encourage the
youth to accept treatment.

(A) Non-Life Threatening.

@

(ii)

(iii)

If a youth refuses a treatment or examination, the youth is asked to sign a Refusal Form,
HLS-520, documenting the date, time, and reason for the refusal. The HLS-520 is
scanned into the EMR.

After two attempts by nursing and/or medical staff to obtain the youth’s cooperation
with a needed medical examination or state-required immunization, nursing staff notifies
the youth’s TJJD case manager. The TJJD case manager attempts to identify a TJJD
staff member who relates well to the youth and requests that the staff member attempt to
gain the youth’s compliance and report back to the nursing staff.

If TIJD staff are unable to influence the youth to accept the needed examination or
immunization, the UTMB clinical case manager and the youth’s TJJD case manager
jointly attempt to notify the youth’s parent/guardian/legal custodian by telephone and
request his/her assistance in talking with the youth.


http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_780m.doc
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_780d.doc
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_780l.doc
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/hsp/06/hsp0609.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/91/gap3809192.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/hsp/06/hsp0610.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_520.doc
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(iv) If all attempts to obtain the youth’s agreement to receive a needed examination or
immunization are unsuccessful, the HSA notifies the UTMB director of clinical and
administrative programs for youth services and the TJJD medical or nursing director.

(v)  If ayouth refuses the tuberculosis screening required by state law, TJJD staff may place
the youth in the security unit to isolate him/her from staff members and other youth until
he/she complies. (See Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 89, Subchapter C,
Section 89.051.)

(B) Life-Threatening.

(i)  When a youth’s refusal of treatment is life-threatening or presents a danger to others,
the HSA or designee immediately notifies the following:

()  facility provider;

(I superintendent;

(1 TJJID medical or nursing director;

(IV) UTMB director of clinical and administrative programs for youth services; and

(V) the parent/guardian/legal custodian (in collaboration with the youth’s TJJD case
manager) as appropriate.

(i)  The superintendent or designee:

0] provides notification to the director of secure facility operations and the senior
director of state programs and facilities; and

(I collaborates with the TJJID staff and UTMB health services staff to determine the
appropriate course of action.

(i)  The TJID medical director may consult with the TJJD Office of General Counsel to
determine the appropriate course of action.



http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.89.htm%2389.051

	(a) Standard.
	(b) Procedures.
	(1) Notification of Authority to Provide Routine Medical Care.
	(2) Consent for Invasive Medical or Dental Procedures.
	(A) Off-Site Care.
	(B) On-Site Care.

	(3) Consent for Psychiatric Care.
	(4) Refusal of Treatment.
	(A) Non-Life Threatening.
	(B) Life-Threatening.



