Texas Juvenile Justice Department PRS.39.25
Personnel Policy and Procedure Manual

Chapter: Training and Staff Development Effective Date: 12/1/11
Title: Continuing Education Unit Credits Page: 1 of 2
New

ACA Standard(s): 4-JCF-6E-14

(@)

(b)

Policy.

Continuing Education Units (CEU’s) are available through the youth services division in accordance with
licensing board requirements. The presenter/sponsor of a course is responsible for completion of the
course documentation package. This package is submitted to the youth services division designee for
review at least two (2) weeks prior to the training course being offered. The individual requesting the CEU
certificate must forward the completed CEU application to the youth services division designee upon
completion of the training course.

Rules.

)

)

®3)

(4)

CEU certificates are issued by the youth services division under guidance from the following boards:
(A) Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners (Social Workers);

(B) Texas State Board of Examiners for Professional Counselors (Licensed Professional
Counselors); and

(C) Texas Certification Board of Addiction Professionals (Licensed Chemical Dependency
Counselors).

In granting CEU's, the continuing education requirements of each licensing agency listed above will
be followed. To receive approval for Psychology CEU credit, the program sponsor must follow the
requirements identified below, and if approved, CEU approval will be granted under the authority of
the Texas Juvenile Justice Department.

In order for the youth services division to grant CEU certificates, program presenters/sponsors must
submit the following documentation to the youth services division at least two (2) weeks in advance
of the scheduled training program. If the two (2) week deadline is missed, CEU credit will not be
given.

(A) Brief course overview, including a record of the date, time, and location of the training and the
CEU type and amount to be awarded.

(B) Course objectives.

(C) Statement regarding the course’s contribution to the practice of social work (for Social Work
CEU'’s only).

(D) Complete course outline (for LCDC CEU'’s only).

(E) Comprehensive topical outline (for LCDC CEU's only).

(F) Teaching methods.

(G) Presenter résumé(s).

(H) Documentation of SSN, license, or certification of presenter(s).

This requirement does not supplant the 30-day notification required by the Texas Department of

State Health Services. The responsibility for submission of that notification, which is available for
electronic submission on the TCBAP website, remains with the presenter/sponsor of the training.
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(5) Following the training, the presenter/sponsor will forward the following documentation to the youth
services division designee:

(A) Al official Training Update Report sign-in sheets (TRN-955);

(B) Documentation of evaluation of student learning (for LCDC courses over 6 hours in duration);
and

(C) Record of test scores (if applicable).
(6) Course evaluations and attendance records must be kept on file for at least three (3) years.

(7)  Upon receipt of the individual participant’'s completed CEU course application/evaluation (with Social
Security Number), the participant in an approved CEU training program shall receive a certificate of
verification of attendance that documents successful completion of the program and the number of
CEU’s received. The certificate will be sent within 30 business days after the official sign-in sheet
and trainee test scores (if applicable) are received by the youth services division designee from the
program presenter. If a participant loses a certificate, he/she should contact the youth services
division designee immediately. A replacement certificate will be mailed with in 30 business days of
the receipt of the request.




