TJJD Family Support Services

The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) believes we can increase the likelihood of success for our youth when we involve their families in their rehabilitation plan. Each of our facilities has unique strategies and events for encouraging family involvement. These events include:

  • Family Days
  • Family Orientation Sessions
  • Facility Open House
  • High School/GED Graduations
  • Multidisciplinary Team Meetings
  • Visitation
A Family Liaison is Ready to Help

Each high restriction facility has a Family Liaison to assist families in staying involved in their child’s treatment, and making informed choices regarding their child’s individual case plan (ICP).

Visiting your Child

Family members are encouraged to write letters to their child and visit them as often as they can. Before you visit your child, each family member must complete an application and consent to a criminal history check in order to be placed on the approved visitation list. Click here to access the application:http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/about/CCF_051.pdf. Family members who need financial assistance with transportation expenses to visit their child are encouraged to contact their Family Liaison.

Preparing for your Child’s Return Home

For families living in certain counties in Texas, the agency is able to provide Family Reunification Services that involves parenting groups, family therapy, and case management. The family sessions are provided with the use of video conferencing to connect youth and family without having to drive the long distance to the TJJD facility. Contact your Family Liaison for more information.

Who is your Family Liaison?

Corsicana Residential Treatment Center
Robin Black
903-875-3416
Robin.Black@tjjd.texas.gov

Evins Regional Juvenile Center (Edinburg)
Marissa Flores
956-289-5547
Marissa.Flores@tjjd.texas.gov

Gainesville State School
Alsha Moon
940-665-0701 ext. 268
Alsha.Moon@tjjd.texas.gov

Giddings State School
Roni Bodeen
979-542-4573
Roni.Bodeen@tjjd.texas.gov

McLennan County State Juvenile Correctional Facility (Mart)
Mary Garrity
254-297-8374
Mary.Garrity@tjjd.texas.gov

Ron Jackson State Juvenile Correctional Facility (Brownwood)
Bob Contreras
325-641-6486
Bob.Contreras@tjjd.texas.gov

Central Office, Supervisor of Family Support
Rebecca Garza
512-490-7662
Rebecca.Garza@tjjd.texas.gov

Publications & Tools for Families