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RULE
(&) Purpose.

(b)

()

This rule establishes criteria and an approval process for:

(1) requesting court approval to transfer sentenced offenders to adult prison; and
(2) discharging sentenced offenders:
(A) whose sentences have expired; or
(B) who did not previously qualify for release or transfer by completing required programming.
Applicability.
(1) This rule applies only to the disposition of a youth’s determinate sentence(s).
(2) This rule applies only to sentenced offenders.
(83)  This rule does not apply to:

(A) sentenced offenders who qualify for release or transfer to parole by completing required
programming. See §380.8559 of this title; or

(B) sentenced offenders adjudicated for capital murder. See 8380.8569 of this title.

General Requirements.

)

)

®3)

By law, a sentenced offender is transferred from the custody of the Texas Juvenile Justice
Department (TJJD) no later than the youth's 19th birthday.

A youth must serve the entire minimum period of confinement that applies to the committing offense
in a high-restriction facility unless:

(A) the youth is transferred by the committing court to the Texas Department of Criminal Justice -
Correctional Institutions Division (TDCJ-CID);

(B) the youth is approved by the committing court to attain parole status before completing the
minimum period of confinement;

(C) the youth's sentence expires before the minimum period of confinement expires; or
(D) the executive director waives such placement.
TJJD reviews each youth's progress:

(A) six months after admission to TJJD;


http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HR/htm/HR.244.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HR/htm/HR.244.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HR/htm/HR.245.htm
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/85/gap3808559.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/85/gap3808569.pdf
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(d)

(4)

®)

(B) when the minimum period of confinement is complete;
(C) when the youth becomes 16 years of age;

(D) when the youth becomes 18 years of age and again at 18 years and six months of age to
determine eligibility or make a recommendation for transfer to TDCJ-CID or to the Texas
Department of Criminal Justice - Parole Division (TDCJ-PD);

(E) within 45 days after revocation of parole, if applicable; and

(F) at other times as appropriate, such as after a major rule violation has been confirmed through
a Level Il hearing.

TJJD notifies the youth, the youth's parent/guardian, any designated advocate for the youth, and
any identified victim(s) of a pending exit review at least 30 days before the date of the review. The
notification informs the recipients that they have the opportunity to submit written comments to
TJJD and specifies the date by which the comments must be received. The notification also informs
the parent/guardian and any identified victim(s) that they may present information in person during
the youth's exit review process and specifies the date by which a request to present in-person
information must be received. Any information received from a youth's family members, victims,
local officials, staff, or the general public is considered by TJJD and included in the release packet.

TJJD jurisdiction is terminated and a youth is discharged when:
(A) the youth is transferred to TDCJ; or
(B) the youth’s sentence has expired, except when the youth is committed to TJJD under

concurrent determinate and indeterminate commitment orders as described in §380.8525 of
this title.

Transfer Criteria.

1)

)

Transfer to TDCJ-CID for Youth Whose Conduct Occurs While on Parole Status.

TJJD may request a juvenile court hearing to recommend transfer of a youth to TDCJ-CID if all of
the following criteria are met:

(A) the youth's parole has been revoked or the youth has been adjudicated or convicted of a
felony offense occurring while on parole status;

(B) the youth is at least age 16;

(C) the youth has not completed his/her sentence; and

(D) the youth's conduct indicates that the welfare of the community requires the transfer.

Transfer to TDCJ-CID for Youth Whose Conduct Occurs While in a High-Restriction Facility.

TJJD may request a juvenile court hearing to recommend transfer of a youth in a high-restriction
facility to TDCJ-CID if the following criteria are met:

(A) the youth is at least age 16; and

(B) the youth has spent at least six months in high-restriction facilities, which is counted as
follows:

0] if the youth received a determinate sentence for conduct that occurred in the
community, the six months begins upon admission to TJJD; or

(i)  if the youth received a determinate sentence for conduct that occurred in a TJJD or
contract facility, the six months begins upon the youth’s initial admission to TJJD,
regardless of whether the initial admission resulted from a determinate or indeterminate
commitment; and


http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/85/gap3808525.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/85/gap3808525.pdf
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(C) the youth has not completed his/her sentence; and
(D) the youth meets at least one of the following behavior criteria:

(i)  the youth has committed a felony or Class A misdemeanor while assigned to a
residential facility; or

(i) the youth has committed major rule violations as confirmed through a Level Il due
process hearing on three or more occasions; or

(i) the youth has engaged in conduct that has resulted in at least five Security Program
admissions or extensions in one month or ten in three months (see §380.9740 of this
title for information on the Security Program); or

(iv) the youth has demonstrated an unwillingness to progress in his/her rehabilitation
program due to persistent non-compliance with objectives; and

(E) alternative interventions have been tried without success; and
(F) the youth's conduct indicates that the welfare of the community requires the transfer.
(3) Transfer to TDCJ-PD for Youth in Residential Facilities.
A youth in a residential facility who has not met program completion criteria in 8380.8559 of this title

and who has not received court approval for transfer to TDCJ-CID must be transferred to TDCJ-PD
to complete his/her sentence no later than the youth's 19th birthday.

(4) Transfer to TDCJ-PD for Youth on TJJD Parole.

A youth on TJJD parole who has not completed his/her sentence must be transferred to TDCJ-PD
no later than the youth's 19th birthday.

(e) Transfer Recommendation for Youth Who Will Not Complete the Minimum Period of Confinement
before Age 19.

TJJD requests a court hearing for any youth who cannot complete his/her minimum period of confinement
by his/her 19t birthday. The purpose of the hearing is to determine whether the youth will be transferred
to TDCJ-CID or to TDCJ-PD. Notwithstanding the criteria in subsection (d)(2) of this section, TJJD
considers the following factors in forming a recommendation for the committing court:

(1) length of stay in TJJID;

(2) youth's progress in the rehabilitation program;
(3) youth's behavior while in TJJD;

(4) youth's offense/delinquent history; and

(5) any other relevant factors, such as:

(A) risk factors and protective factors the youth possesses as identified in his/her psychological
evaluation; and

(B) the welfare of the community.
()  Discharge Criteria.
TJJD discharges youth from its jurisdiction when one of the following occurs:

(1) expiration of the sentence imposed by the juvenile court, unless the youth is under concurrent
commitment orders as described in §380.8525 of this title; or

(2) the youth has been transferred to TDCJ-CID under court order or transferred to TDCJ-PD.


http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/97/gap3809740.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/97/gap3809740.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/85/gap3808559.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/85/gap3808525.pdf
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(9)

(h)

Decision Authority for Approval to Transfer.

(1) TJJID does not transfer youth from a high-restriction facility to TDCJ-PD until the executive director
or his/her designee determines the youth's community re-entry/transition plan adequately
addresses risk factors.

(2) When a determination has been made that the youth meets criteria for requesting a hearing for
transfer to TDCJ-CID or cannot complete his/her minimum period of confinement before age 19, the
executive director or his/her designee approves the staff request for a hearing by the committing
juvenile court.

(3) The committing juvenile court is the final decision authority for transferring a youth to TDCJ-CID.

Notification.

(1) TJJID notifies the following at least ten calendar days before the youth's discharge due to expiration
of sentence or transfer to TDCJ-PD without a transfer/release hearing:

(A) the committing juvenile court;
(B) the prosecuting attorney;
(C) the youth's TJJID parole officer;
(D) the chief juvenile probation officer in the county to which the youth is being moved; and
(E) any entity that has issued an active warrant for the youth.
(2) TJID notifies any entity that has issued an active warrant for the youth at least ten calendar days

before:

(A) the youth’s transfer to TDCJ-PD resulting from a transfer/release hearing; or
(B) the youth’s transfer to TDCJ-CID.

See CMS.02.57 for procedures relating to transfer to TDCJ-PD.

See CMS.02.58 for procedures relating to transfer to TDCJ-CID.

See CMS.02.77 for procedures relating to transfer/discharge of youth with non-immigration detainers.
See CMS.02.75 for procedures relating to transfer/discharge of undocumented foreign nationals.
See CMS.02.63 for procedures relating to the 10-day release/transition notice (CCF-186).


http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0257.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0258.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0277.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0275.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0263.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/CCF/CCF_186.doc

