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RULE
(&) Purpose.

(b)

(€)

This rule establishes criteria and the approval process for transferring sentenced offenders adjudicated
for capital murder to the Texas Department of Criminal Justice-Parole Division (TDCJ-PD) or the Texas
Department of Criminal Justice-Correctional Institutions Division (TDCJ-CID).

Applicability.

This rule applies only to sentenced offenders adjudicated for capital murder.

General Provisions.

1)

)

3

(4)

A detainer or bench warrant is not an automatic bar to earned release. The Texas Juvenile Justice
Department (TJJD) releases youth to authorities pursuant to a warrant.

TJJD reviews each youth's progress:

(A) six months after admission to TJJD;

(B) when the minimum period of confinement is complete;
(C) when the youth becomes 16 years of age;

(D) when the youth becomes 18 years of age and again at 18 years and six months of age to
determine eligibility or make a recommendation for transfer to TDCJ-CID or TDCJ-PD; and

(E) atother times as appropriate, such as after a major rule violation has been confirmed through
a Level Il hearing.

TJJD notifies the youth, the youth's parent/guardian, any designated advocate for the youth, and
any identified victim(s) of a pending exit review at least 30 days before the date of the review. The
notification informs the recipients that they have the opportunity to submit written comments to
TJJD and specifies the date by which the comments must be received. The notification also informs
the parent/guardian and any identified victim(s) that they may present information in person during
the youth's exit review process and specifies the date by which a request to present in-person
information must be received. Any information received from a youth's family members, victims,
local officials, staff, or the general public is considered by TJJD and included in the transfer packet.

Youth whose committing offense is capital murder must serve the entire minimum period of
confinement applicable to the youth's committing offense in high-restriction facilities unless:

(A) the youth is transferred by the committing court to TDCJ-CID; or

(B) the youth is approved by the committing court to attain parole status before completion of the
minimum period of confinement; or

(C) the youth's sentence expires before the minimum period of confinement expires.



http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HR/htm/HR.244.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.30.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.54.htm
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®)

(6)

A youth who has not received court approval to transfer to TDCJ-CID must be transferred to TDCJ-
PD no later than age 19.

TJJD jurisdiction is terminated and a youth is discharged when:
(A) the youth is transferred to TDCJ; or
(B) the youth’s sentence has expired, except when the youth is committed to TJJD under

concurrent determinate and indeterminate commitment orders as described in §380.8525 of
this title.

(d) Program Completion Criteria.

TJJD reviews youth for program completion and possible transfer to TDCJ-PD when the following criteria
have been met:

1)

)
3

4

no major rule violations confirmed through a Level Il due process hearing within 90 days before the
exit interview or during the approval process; and

completion of at least three years toward the minimum period of confinement; and

participation in or completion of assigned specialized treatment programs or curriculum as required
under §380.8751 of this title; and

assignment by the Multi-disciplinary Team to the highest stage in the rehabilitation program as
described in 8380.8703 of this title, which reflects that the youth:

(A) s consistently participating in academic and workforce development programs
commensurate with abilities as reflected in the youth's educational plan;

(B) s consistently participating in skills development groups, as reflected in the youth's individual
case plan;

(C) is consistently demonstrating learned skills, as reflected in the documentation of the youth's
behavior; and

(D) has completed a community reintegration plan approved by the Multi-disciplinary Team that
demonstrates the youth's:

0] understanding of his/her risk and protective factors;

(i)  development of skills, abilities, and knowledge to reduce risk factors and increase
protective factors;

(i) identification of goals and a plan of action to achieve those goals; and

(iv) identification of obstacles that may hinder successful re-entry and plans to deal with
those obstacles; and

(E) participation in or completion of statutorily required rehabilitation programming, including but
not limited to:

0] participation in a reading improvement program for identified youth to the extent
required under §380.9155 of this title;

(i)  participation in a positive behavioral interventions and supports system to the extent
required under 8380.9155 of this title; and

(i)  completion of at least 12 hours of a gang intervention education program, if required by
court order.



http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/85/gap3808525.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/85/gap3808525.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/87/gap3808751.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/87/gap3808703.pdf
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/91/gap3809155.pdf
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(e) Youth Who Do Not Meet Program Completion Criteria.
If a youth does not meet the criteria in subsection (d) of this section, TJJD recommends transfer to TDCJ-
PD or TDCJ-CID to the committing juvenile court and considers the following factors in forming its
recommendation:
(1) length of stay in TJJD;
(2) youth's progress in the rehabilitation program;
(3) youth's behavior while in TJJD;
(4) youth's offense/delinquent history; and

(5) any other relevant factors, such as:

(A) risk factors and protective factors the youth possesses, as identified in his/her psychological
evaluation; and

(B) the welfare of the community.
)] Transfer to TDCJ-CID before Termination of TJJD's Jurisdiction.

TJJID may request a juvenile court hearing to recommend transfer of a youth in a high-restriction facility to
TDCJ-CID if the following criteria are met:

(1) the youth is at least age 16; and
(2) the youth has spent at least six months in high-restriction facilities, which is counted as follows:

(A) if the youth received a determinate sentence for conduct that occurred in the community, the
six months begins upon admission to TJJD; or

(B) if the youth received a determinate sentence for conduct that occurred in a TJJD or contract
facility, the six months begins upon the youth’s initial admission to TJJD, regardless of
whether the initial admission resulted from a determinate or indeterminate commitment; and

(3) the youth has not completed his/her sentence; and

(4) the youth meets at least one of the following behavior criteria:

(A) the youth has committed a felony or Class A misdemeanor while assigned to a residential
facility; or

(B) the youth has committed major rule violations as confirmed through a Level Il due process
hearing on three or more occasions; or

(C) the youth has engaged in conduct that has resulted in at least five Security Program
admissions or extensions in one month or ten in three months (see 8380.9740 of this title for
information on the Security Program); or

(D) the youth has demonstrated an unwillingness to progress in his/her rehabilitation program
due to persistent non-compliance with objectives; and

(5) alternative interventions have been tried without success; and

(6) the youth's conduct indicates that the welfare of the community requires the transfer.


http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/gap/380/97/gap3809740.pdf
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(g) Decision Authority for Approval to Transfer.

(1) No later than five months before a youth reaches age 19, the executive director or his/her designee
must:

(A) determine whether the youth meets criteria under this rule for transfer to TDCJ-PD or transfer
to TDCJ-CID; and

(B) approve the staff request for a hearing by the committing juvenile court to request transfer of
the youth to TDCJ-PD or TDCJ-CID.

(2) The committing juvenile court is the final decision authority for transferring a youth to TDCJ-PD or
TDCJ-CID.

(h)  Notification.

TJJID notifies any entity that has issued an active warrant for the youth at least ten calendar days before
the youth’s transfer.

See CMS.02.57 for procedures relating to transfer to TDCJ-PD.

See CMS.02.58 for procedures relating to transfer to TDCJ-CID.

See CMS.02.77 for procedures relating to transfer of youth with non-immigration detainers.
See CMS.02.75 for procedures relating to transfer of undocumented foreign nationals.

See CMS.02.62 for procedures relating to the 30-day report to the committing court (CCF-180).
See CMS.02.63 for procedures relating to the 10-day release/transition notice (CCF-186).


http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0257.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0258.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0277.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0275.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0262.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/CCF/CCF_180.doc
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/cms/02/cms0263.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/CCF/CCF_186.doc

