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(a) Standard. 

 
The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) follows laws, rules, and industry standards for obtaining 
medical consent from TJJD youth who are at least 18 years of age or from parents/guardians of youth 
who are under 18 years of age. TJJD documents the consent process.  

 
TJJD informs youth and/or their parent/guardian about medical, dental, and psychiatric care for youth in 
their primary language.  

 
(b) Procedures. 
 

(1) Notification of Authority to Provide Routine Medical Care. 
 

(A) Within 48 hours after a youth’s admission to a TJJD facility, or within 48 hours of a youth’s 
return to a TJJD facility upon recommitment, a TJJD staff member sends to the 
parent/guardian a Notice of Provision for Medical Care form, HLS-860/HLS-860sp, via regular 
mail and forwards a copy of the HLS-860 to the infirmary. The HLS-860 states that TJJD 
provides youth with routine medical, dental, and mental health evaluations and continued 
treatment as medically necessary unless consent for such evaluations and/or treatment is 
denied by the parent/guardian. Routine services include: 

 
(i) health screenings and sick calls; 
(ii) physical and dental examinations;  
(iii) mental health evaluations; 
(iv) laboratory tests; 
(v) immunizations; and 
(vi) treatment of health conditions identified through evaluations.  

 
(B) An infirmary staff member scans the completed HLS-860 into the electronic health record 

(EHR).  
 
(C) When a youth is transferred within TJJD, the health services administrator (HSA) ensures 

that the completed HLS-860 is available in the EHR. If the HLS-860 is not available, the HSA 
notifies the appropriate TJJD staff. 

 
(2) Consent for Invasive Medical or Dental Procedures. 

 
(A) Off-Site Care. 
 

If a youth requires an invasive medical or dental procedure to be performed at an off-site 
location, the off-site medical or dental provider requests and receives consent for the 
procedure from:  
 
(i) the youth, if the youth is at least 18 years of age; or  
(ii) the parent/guardian.  
 

(B) On-Site Care. 
 
(i) For an on-site, invasive medical or dental procedure: 
 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.32.htm#32.001
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.32.htm#32.003
https://www.tjjd.texas.gov/index.php/component/jdownloads/send/491-division4-health-care-services/1697-380-9181-medical-consent
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/HS/htm/HS.89.htm#89.051
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_860.doc
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_860sp.doc
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(I) if the youth is 18 years of age, the University of Texas Medical Branch - 

Correctional Managed Care (UTMB) medical or dental staff obtains the 
youth’s signature on the appropriate consent form (i.e., HLS-780m or HLS-780d); 
or  

 
(II) if the youth is under 18 years of age, the UTMB staff collaborates with the TJJD 

case manager to contact the parent/guardian and send the appropriate consent 
form (i.e., HLS-780m or HLS-780d) and the accompanying cover letter, 
Notification and Consent for Medical or Dental Treatment, HLS-780I. 

 
(-a-) If obtaining written consent from the parent/guardian is not feasible, two 

staff members (at least one of whom is a health care professional) 
must witness parental consent if obtained via the telephone and document 
the consent on the appropriate consent form. 

 
(-b-) If the parent/guardian cannot be reached, the superintendent has the 

authority to give his/her consent for treatment of the youth under certain 
conditions, pursuant to Section 32.001, Family Code. 

 
(ii) The infirmary staff:  
 

(I) receives the completed HLS-780 form;  
 
(II) scans the form into the EHR; and  
 
(III) notifies the facility medical or dental provider when the consent form has been 

received and scanned into the EHR. 
 

(3) Notification for Psychiatric Care. 
 
(A) The health care staff notifies the parent/guardian in writing when a psychiatric provider is 

starting or discontinuing a psychotropic medication for a youth under age 18. See HSP.06.09 
for procedures. 
 

(B) For information on involuntary administration of psychotropic medication during psychiatric 
emergencies, see GAP.380.9192 and HSP.06.10. 
 

(4) Refusal of Treatment. 
 

All youth have the right to refuse any examination, diagnostic test, immunization, and/or medical, 
dental, psychiatric, or nursing treatment except when the refusal is considered life-threatening or 
may jeopardize the health of others. Every effort is made, including contacting the parent/guardian, 
as appropriate, to ensure the youth has accurate and reliable information and assistance in making 
his or her decision with regard to accepting the recommended treatment or procedure. 
  
(A) All Prescribed Medication or Other Treatment. 
 

(i) If a youth refuses a recommended examination, medication, treatment, or 
immunization, the youth is asked to complete a Refusal Form, HLS-520, including the 
reason given for the refusal, if any. If the youth refuses to complete or sign the form, a 
staff witness signs the form, verifying the refusal and the reason given for the refusal, if 
any. The HLS-520 is scanned into the EHR.  

 
(ii) If the youth refuses medication because of a possible side effect or adverse reaction 

(even one time), the nursing staff notifies the provider of the youth’s refusal and 
follows any provider orders. 

 

http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_780m.doc
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_780d.doc
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_780l.doc
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.32.htm#32.001
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/hsp/06/hsp0609.pdf
https://www.tjjd.texas.gov/index.php/component/jdownloads/send/491-division4-health-care-services/1706-380-9192-involuntary-emergency-administration-of-psychotropic-medication-2
http://www.tjjd.texas.gov/policies/hsp/06/hsp0610.pdf
http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_520.doc
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(iii) Except as provided by paragraph (B) below, if the youth refuses medication for any 

other reason, the nursing and/or medical staff offer up to two subsequent opportunities 
for the youth to comply, as time allows. If the youth refuses three consecutive treatments 
or doses of the same prescribed medication, the nursing staff notifies the youth’s TJJD 
case manager.  

 
(iv) The TJJD case manager attempts to identify a TJJD staff member who relates well to 

the youth and requests that the staff member discuss with the youth his or her need for 
treatment and report back to the nursing staff.  

 
(v) If the youth continues to refuse the recommended examination, medication, treatment, 

or immunization, the UTMB nurse coordinator for health services and the youth’s 
TJJD case manager discuss the situation and each attempts to notify the youth’s 
parent/guardian by telephone and request his/her assistance in talking with the youth.  

 
(vi) If the youth continues to refuse the recommended examination, medication, treatment, 

or immunization, the HSA notifies the UTMB-CMC nurse program manager for youth 
services and the TJJD medical or nursing director. 

 
(B) Medication or Treatment for a Life-Threatening Condition. 

 
When refusal of medication or treatment is potentially life-threatening or presents a health 
risk or danger to the youth or to others (e.g., refusal of a TB skin test, a laboratory test, an x-
ray, or treatment for a chronic or life-threatening condition such as diabetes, seizure disorder, 
heart condition, or an infection requiring an antibiotic):  

 
(i) the HSA or designee immediately notifies the facility provider, superintendent, TJJD 

medical or nursing director, and UTMB-CMC nurse program manager for youth 
services and completes the bottom section of the HLS-520;  

 
(ii) the HSA or designee, in collaboration with the youth’s TJJD case manager, contacts 

the youth’s parent or guardian and documents these notifications on the HLS-520 
and/or in the EHR, as applicable; 

 
(iii) the superintendent or designee:  
 

(I) notifies the appropriate director of secure facility operations and the deputy 
executive director for state services or designee; and  

 
(II) collaborates with the TJJD staff and the UTMB health services staff to determine 

the appropriate course of action; and 
 

Note:  If a youth refuses the tuberculosis screening, TJJD staff may place the 
youth in the security unit to isolate him/her from staff members and other 
youth until he/she complies. 

 
(iv) the TJJD medical director may consult with the TJJD Office of General Counsel to 

determine the appropriate course of action. 
 

NOTE: Do NOT use physical force or restraint to administer a treatment refused by youth except as 
 provided by HSP.04.11. 

 
 

http://intranet.tjjd.texas.gov/forms/HLS/HLS_520.doc
https://www.tjjd.texas.gov/index.php/component/jdownloads/send/529-chapter-04-health-care-treatment/1867-04-01-initial-intake-screening
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